Dilema

OK.

The prints are currently making their way over to me as we speak.

Apart from one thing.

I want the back to be bright colours…

(Still using GOTS approved inks)

And it’s proving more of an issue that I thought.

My options were to:

1) use a reactive dye to dye the cotton.

2) Digital print the colour onto the cotton

3) Buy recycled Cotton Twill in appropriate colours

But the answers are

1) The dye will rub and mix. So say the back is yellow and the front blue, in the middle is will start to become green!

2) Same goes to the digital print unless I use Pigment inks- BUT they sit on top of the material and give a crip feel :/

3) Unless I know the ink type, it will do the same and blend.

Slightly stuck…

DO I make the back of the cushion boring and off-white?

Do I use a non-organic black material?

Do I just print the back the same as the front?

BUT it WILL raise the price of the cushion, are people willing to pay?

Or I suppose I could try make a sort of clever way to putting it together without the two edges touching? Almost like a border, but again it will probably need to be black, and if it’s reactive … same problem.

Maybe I could use a felt?

Never thought there would be so much to think about in regards to making a digital printed cushion just the way I want …

xMx

Leave a comment